INDEX: Award is split into five categories: Body, Home, Work, Play & Learning and Community, representing human life from inside out. Each category calls for entries from very different design fields using underlying goals as perspective for how we can use design as a tool to solve the issues of global and local societies – thus creating Design to Improve Life.

The underlying framework of these categories is the 17 United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDG’s), as we find it essential to be aligned with an agenda agreed upon by the entire world.

The Body Category

The Body category comprises all designs related to the body, such as clothing, appliances, aids/tools used in treatment and care, etc. The category also comprises systems and services related to health and care as well as strategies regarding vital processes and public health.

The Home Category

The Home category comprises all designs related to the home, such as architecture, interior design, lighting, gadgets, furniture, tools, appliances, utility systems, software and communications hardware etc. Services and processes for the home and strategies for new ways of living as well as new forms of cohabitation are also in this category.

The Work Category

The Work category comprises all designs related to work, such as work tools, manufacturing machines, aids and communications, architecture and interior design, control and management systems. The category also comprises services for work environments and strategies for issues related to this, as well as strategies for organizational and managerial development.

The Play & Learning Category

The Play & Learning category comprises all designs related to sport, play, education, learning, leisure and culture, such as the design of education programs, education tools, leisure facilities, tools, games and equipment used for sports, cultural activities and more.

The Community Category

The Community category comprises all designs of things that we share communally, such as roads, bike paths, public spaces and parks, cities, infrastructure, means of transport, signage, mass media and communications. The design of strategies, services and concepts for society, networking and communities are also part of this category.